The ShowYohStuff Vine Contest, the Occulus Rift, and your feedback

My fiance is a web developer (which is very handy to have one of these at your side, let me tell you) and he made this site for one of his company’s clients:

http://contest.yohinteractive.com/

I urge any gaming enthusiast and/or gaming developer readers to take a look at the site and participate in the contest for a chance to win an Occulus Rift. If you don’t know what that is, again, I encourage my fellow gamers to check out the site to see the affordable future of virtual reality gaming.

To enter the contest, all you have to do is shoot a six second video using twitter vine to show why you are the world’s greatest game developer. Tag the vine with #ShowYohStuff and make sure to share it to Twitter, then go to the site (contest.yohinteractive.com) and see how you do.

If game development or shooting vine videos aren’t your thing, my fiance could still use your help! Any feedback about what you think of the site in the comment section of this post would be greatly appreciated. Your commentary will help him to make better sites in the future.

This entry was posted in Console Gaming, Online Gaming and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The ShowYohStuff Vine Contest, the Occulus Rift, and your feedback

  1. Brian says:

    I like this site, the sliding model is neat and a cool change of pace. There’s an arrow button on the top page that slides down to the next frame, but that arrow button is absent on the next frame – I’d incorporate those (both up and down) on each frame. Not because they’re necessary, just for continuity of interface. It’s the first thing the user sees and it becomes an anchor for usability.
    And the background images are distracting, though I don’t have a ready suggestion for what to replace them with.

  2. Mikhail says:

    First and foremost, the design of the links on the page are quite well done. Straight to the point, easily navigated. I love the insertion of the background imagery, however, I think perhaps a higher resolution if possible and different, more engaging screenshots may benefit the aesthetic value. I don’t necessarily have an issue with the color scheme of the page, however, perhaps using cool colors rather than the pink would compliment the dark backdrop along with the gray areas. Perhaps a shade of blue, or green. A bold font is good for grabbing the reader’s attention to read the context, but I would suggest something a little more sharp, maybe a bit more narrow. It just seems to me that for a site to entice gamers and designers, etc, that the style of the page should look a bit sharper, edgier. In general, I think the vision of the site design is very good, I would simply suggest making a few edits to make it stand out a bit more. I hope this helps!

  3. Matt says:

    Nicely done. Not that I’m an expert on grading websites. At least I’m not fumbling about trying to locate where things are.

Leave a Reply

