Memories from MMOs IV: Encountering Imperials as a Rebel in PvP. (SWG)

This never ended well.  Well, actually, it did.  I loved to PvP in SWG.  If the game was still live, it’d still be my go-to game for true world PvP.

I fondly recall the attitudes of Imperials I had defeated, or been defeated by.

angryimperial1 angryimperial2

But that’s just one Imperial player.  There were plenty more Imperial players who weren’t so angsty!

spygonnahurt

He was right.

After a while of playing spy in PvP, your reputation starts to exceed you.  Turn a corner, appear before someone who has encountered you many times before, and…

Unable to complete his description.

Unable to complete his description.

As a spy, I loved to wait patiently as my enemies wandered by.  Sometimes they knew I was there, so their movements became more erratic and they were more panicked.  The really good players just became more aware, which made my job harder, but the challenge was welcome.

One Imperial base, one stormtrooper, one pet rancor, one rebel spy.

One Imperial base, one stormtrooper, one pet rancor, one rebel spy.

Of course, all of this chaotic warfare brought bounty hunters to my doorstep frequently.  I liked to place a gravestone on their corpse after defeating their attempt to collect my bounty.

They were never too happy about it.

They were never too happy about it.

Playing spy after a while became boring to me, however.  While there was certainly a finesse to being a good spy, it was also easy for people to roll in groups of cloaked spies and that was never fun.  Tired of the lack of challenge after a while, and of other spies ruining my fun with griefing tactics, I chose medic.  Medic became my main profession over all and I ended up doing more PvP as one.  Beastmaster medic, to be exact.

What Star Warsy battles this lead to.  A winged, hotpants clad twi'lek with a raptor pet chasing down a caped man known as "Your Mom" around medical centers.

What Star Warsy battles this lead to. A winged, hotpants clad twi’lek with a raptor pet chasing down a caped man known as “Your Mom” around medical centers.

I have to admit that my medic won, a lot, and I loved making it possible for my team accomplish incredible things.  Not that it was all my doing–I had some good PvP friends who were highly capable, too!

So we were able to completely disrupt base busts, an exploited way of gaining GCW points, by showing up to the Imperial party and taking out all overt members.

So we were able to completely disrupt base busts, an exploited way of gaining GCW points, by showing up to the Imperial party and taking out all overt members.  They were NEVER happy about this.

Unfortunately for my medic, this also meant I was often the last man standing and sometimes after running away from a mob of Imperials, they would catch up…

Putting myself in stasis gave me a few seconds to try and reason with them.  Never worked.

Putting myself in stasis gave me a few seconds to try and reason with them. Never worked.

 

I loved that this game enabled you to talk to the enemy.  Unlike WoW or SWTOR, you could communicate freely with the opposing faction.  Who cared if someone talked trash?  Enjoy it or ignore it.  The communication allowed for a bigger community and interesting alliances.  You did not have to go out of game to organize battles on a rainy day, either.

It also offered true world PvP on all of its planets.  You could travel in space, PvP there, or walk the land and PvP there as well.  Epic jedi battles on Mustafar?  Sure.  Speeder chases through monstrous jungles in Kashyyyk?  Yep.  Mos Eisley blaster fight in the form of an O.K. Corral shootout?  Got it.  You could even bring the fight to your home or your enemy’s home and defend your faction’s influence there.  I recall setting up a trap by hiding my team inside of an AT-AT and ambushing a patrolling Imperial team who could not figure out where we were hiding, Trojan horse style.

Also, if you were not feeling like PvPing, you did not have to.  PvP was always an option with its own rewards for participating.

While all of this lead to the whackiness depicted above, SWG really did have the best world PvP system in my opinion, and it created great memories for me.

This entry was posted in Classic Games, Memories from MMOs, Online Gaming, PvP, Star Wars Galaxies and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

