Memories from MMOs Part I: The Shopkeep

If you have played MMOs/MMORPGs for an extended amount of time, there are likely specific events that stick out in your mind when you recall your time spent on them.  The  memorable events in my MMO history range from funny, sad, ironic, strange, infuriating, and even downright crazy.  There are so many for me so I will begin sharing as I remember them.

Anarchy Online

When I first started playing AO I was around fifteen or sixteen and going through my angsty, rebellious years.  I admittedly was not very nice to some people and often times jumped to negative conclusions.  This backfired on me one day as I was adventuring down a very long, somewhat remote road in game.  I was very low level but determined to get to where a mission I picked up was telling me to go.  At the time I could barely function solo and so I found myself in huge trouble when a couple of rollerrats began to follow me down the road.

Kind of cute, mostly ugly, and surprisingly vicious in a pack.

It turns out that when one rollerrat gains aggro on you, others you pass by will also gain aggro.  This resulted in me being chased down the long road for ten minutes straight, on foot, followed by no less than fifty rollerrats all screaming and spitting projectiles at my level fifteen self.  At the time I could not see the humor in the situation and I was more concerned about dying and having to try and make the entire trek again, so I began to get angry.  This didn’t help me any when a GM showed up, having been monitoring my difficult run.

I had been so focused on running, and so upset about the aggro in the game, that I did not notice her GM tag above her character’s head.  All I saw was someone running backward beside me, looking ridiculous with the backward running animation.  After a minute I became offended that they were not helping me, so I began to make rude comments such as “LOOK AT THIS IDIOT WITH THEIR STUPID MOONWALK” and “STOP FOLLOWING ME A-HOLE!”

She responded with a calm “Do you need help?” to which I answered, still with caps lock on, “OBVIOUSLY IDIOT LOOK AT ALL THESE STUPID RATS”.  The GM proceeded to direct me to a nearby outpost wherein an instanced shop lie.  Unfortunately despite my attempts to enter the shop’s instance and thus safely hide from the march of rollerrats, the game refused to let me in immediately.  Quickly the rollerrats caught up and began murdering me.  I was panicking so much that I failed to see the GM’s precise instruction to run inside the shop and run out as soon as it loads since the shop was owned by the opposing faction, an evil corporation known as Omnitek.

Finally, the shop door opened and allowed me inside, but just as I found myself safe from the rollerrat army I was faced with a new danger.  After taking enough time to heal up from the rollerrat damage, I saw an NPC shopkeep and approached him to examine his wares, hoping he had some more healing items that would help in the future.  The shopkeep inside raised their weapon and began to shoot me point blank in the face.  I lost the entirety of my health immediately and died in front of the doorway.  The GM began to send me private messages and the conversation went something like this:

GM: Did you make it out?  Entering and leaving quickly should have been enough to break aggro and send the rollerrats running away.
Me: U TRICKED ME
Me: U GOT ME MURDERED
Me: TRAPPED AND MURDERED
Me: BY THE SHOPKEEP OF THIS GENERAL STORE
GM: I am not allowed to intervene by killing monsters for players.  Did you not run back out immediately?
Me: U KNEW
GM: Yes, that’s why I told you to run out again…
Me: F*** THAT SHOPKEEP
Me: SERIOUSLY F*** THAT SHOPKEEP
GM: I am sorry.  Do you have any questions about the game I can help you with?
Me: YES WHEN TEH F*** DO F***ING GENERAL STORE SHOPKEEPS BECOME F***ING SUPER SAIYAN ELITE SOLDIERS
GM: They are not soldiers or guards.  They are high level NPCs.  Like all factional NPCs, they attack members of the opposing faction.
Me: HE KILLED ME
Me: ONE SHOT
Me: F*** THAT SHOPKEEP

The worst part of all of this is knowing that I was 100% serious with the GM and very angry over the game.  It would be more embarrassing to me, but as I look back on the event in retrospect I cannot help but find it humorous.  Game Masters/GMs deal with so much on a daily basis and so many of them are actually volunteering their time to these games because they are passionate about them!  Like all typical customer service jobs, GMs are not allowed to treat the customer/player poorly, but I have definitely seen some less patient GMs out there.

So, here’s a big THANK YOU to all those patient, kind, caring GMs out there that take the time out of their day to make sure players–even complete brat noobs–have a good gaming experience!

But seriously…

F THAT SHOPKEEP

This entry was posted in Anarchy Online, Classic Games, Memories from MMOs, Online Gaming and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

